Alameda County Assessors Office Logo

Use Codes

The Assessor’s Use Code has been designed for use by this department for the purpose of appraising properties for assessment purposes only.

The Assessor’s Office does NOT recommend other agencies (Cities, School, Districts, Special Districts, etc.) use these Use Codes for any other purpose and is not responsible for any inaccurate determinations on their part when using these Use Codes.

Revenue and Tax Code Sec. 408.3(d) - The Legislature finds and declares that information concerning property characteristics is maintained solely for assessment purposes and is not continuously updated by the assessor. Therefore, neither the county nor the assessor shall incur any liability for errors, omissions, or approximations with respect to property characteristics information provided by the assessor to any party pursuant to this section. Further, this subdivision shall not be construed to imply liability on the part of the county or the assessor for errors, omissions, or other defects in any other information or records provided by the assessor pursuant to the provisions of this part.

Close Window

First and Second Digit Codes
0x - Series - Exempt, Not Assessed by County, Mobile Homes and Tracts

1x - Series - Single Family Residential

2x - Series - Multiple Residential, 2 - 4 Units and Mobile Homes

3x - Series - Commercial(See also 8X & 9X Series)

4x - Series - Industrial

5x - Series - Rural

6x - Series - Institutional

7x - Series - Multiple Residential, 5 or more units

8x - Series - Improved Commercial

9x - Series - Improved Commercial

Alameda County